Our People


The Featherston Community Centre provides a community space for services, ongoing or one-off events, activities and classes for public and private users and promotes a high level of well-being to the Community by acting as a pivotal point in the co-ordination and delivery of appropriate services to the People of Featherston and the wider South Wairarapa.


The Featherston Community Centre is used, valued and supported by the entire community, and is the hub of the Featherston’s social, educational, and recreational services.

Portrait of Siv Fjærestad

Siv Fjærestad (Centre Manager)


Centre Manager

Siv Beate Fjærestad has been the Centre Manager since May 2012. Originally from Norway, she has a strong background in the arts having complete a Fine Arts degree in London and has spent time managing a successful art space and gallery in Wellington before shifting to Featherston in 2010.

As Manager, her role is to focussed on the day-to-day running of the Centre. This includes administering and scheduling bookings, co-ordinating the Centre's many volunteers, organising the maintenance and upkeep of the premises, managing access to the Centre, maintaining the newsletter and the Centre's online presence, assisting the Board with funding applications and generally tending to anything and everything else required in the running of a successful community centre.

Emily Greenberg, Chairperson

Emily Greenberg (Chairperson)


Featherston Community Centre Charitable Trust Board

The Board meets monthly. Its purpose is to set the vision, mission and direction for the Centre and determine how the Centre should operate by way of policy. Its role also includes overseeing financial matters such as budgeting and funding.

We strive for a Board that reflects the diversity of the community and the needs of the Trust. There are nine board positions and provision to co-opt 2 additional members. We currently have two vacancies. Interested? Please contact the board chair, Emily Greenberg at 06 308 6572 for information.

The members of the board are Emily Greenberg (chair), Maud Bot (treasurer), Shannon Stevens (secretary)Rupert Watson, Patsy Wooles, Paul Mason and Snita Ahir-Knight. New members are always welcome.